Back from the Oregon Coast

My family took a much-needed vacation on the scenic Oregon Coast in early July, but not before I made more strawberry jam – bringing the grand total to 13 pints. 🙂  I also froze 2 quarts to use in the Thanksgiving and Christmas strawberry salads.  We arrived home last Friday to an herb garden explosion, so I’ll be heading out the door soon to tame the sage, parsley, and chives.  I also plan to cut the celery into manageable chunks and freeze it, since my primary use for it is in soups and other cooked dishes.

Two of the seven remaining ducks have turned out to be drakes.  Being rouens, it’s easy to tell now that they have their “nuptial” plumage.  As far as the four black runners and the buff mystery are concerned, I think I’m going to have to wait a few more weeks to see if any of them develop some curled tail feathers.  Oh well, as long as they don’t fight, I’ll be happy to keep all the boys; they are excellent slug patrollers and quite entertaining. 😉

2 thoughts on “Back from the Oregon Coast

  1. Welcome Back! I love the Oregon Coast. I have an Aunt and Uncle who live in Tillamook and who also have a nice beach house at Tiera Del Mar too, but have not been down to see them in absolute ages. It sounds like you are having a bumper crop of strawberries! Good work on all the jam making. I cannot seem to keep any of the strawberry harvests long enough to do anything interesting with them… keep getting eaten right after I harvest. I am planning to freeze celery this coming weekend also.

    Like

Leave a Reply

